Basics of Yoga

Yoga is about focusing your energy into constructive channels. And the name of an individual who follows the teachings of yoga is known as a “yogi.” There are actually several different types of yoga:

Basics of Yoga

Karma yoga focuses on giving of oneself without expecting any reward.

Jnana yoga is a philosophical approach to unveiling the illusions of the world.

Bhakti yoga focuses on channeling emotional energy into one’s spiritual practice.

Rhaja yoga focuses on concentration and mind control. It is within rhaja yoga that we find Hatha yoga, the physical practice, which most people practice as a form of exercise. As there are many styles of dance, so are there many forms of Hatha yoga. Current popular styles include (but are not limited to):

– Gentle yoga, which is sometimes also called by the generic name “hatha yoga.” This usage of “hatha” is debatable. Some believe the term should only be used to refer to the general idea for all physical yogas, while others use it colloquially to refer to the gentler style. In Gentle yoga, the focus is on long stretches and flexibility, with slow, deep breathing (yogic breathing is known as “Pranayama”). This can be very soothing for the mind. It is the kind of mellow style most people picture when they think of yoga.

– Kundalini yoga works on the premise that the body has eight “chakras.” Through use of “breath of fire” (rapid breathing), one can heat up the body from the bottom up, eventually “raising kundalini” to achieve a feeling of high enlightenment.

Source: Ehow

Images used were taken from the Internet.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s